Crazy travel plans that lead to 3 days in transit and some tips for sleeping at airports

Standard

India posts and photos will follow shortly once I have completed my 3 days in transit that take me from Dharamsala (India) via Delhi airport, Mumbai airport, Heathrow airport (London), my parent’s house near Southampton, central London (to try to buy Harina Pan), Heathrow airport (again) and finally Buenos Aires (again). In essence, I left India on Thursday afternoon and will arrive in Buenos Aires on Sunday morning. Am I crazy, probably but I’m not one to miss out on any opportunity to squeeze just a bit more out of my time off!

Delhi airport has this cool wall of mudra hands

Delhi airport also has a really cool sun salutations yoga sculpture

In the meantime I have developed my skill for sleeping on airport floors, so I thought I’d share some tips in case any of you also devise equally silly travel plans that take in 4 airports over 3 days!

  • Selecting the right spot:

This is important! You want to find a spot where you won’t be bothered and feel safe. On the way in at Mumbai Domestic Terminal I followed the locals and positioned myself on the floor between some benches. It meant no-one disturbed me and I could lock my bag to the bench.

Finding a spot at Mumbai International Terminal was more difficult. In the end I found a spot between a pillar and the wall (there were other people sleeping along the wall) so again people wouldn’t need to walk over me etc.

At Caracas Domestic Terminal everyone gathers together in one spot to sleep. Safety in numbers I guess…

  • Little luxuries to make yourself more comfortable:

I’m lucky enough to be travelling with a yoga mat which I roll out to sleep on. Not only does it keep out the cold of the floor (a bit) and provide a little cushioning, it also marks out my ‘spot’. Many Indian people have various types of mats or blankets to sleep on, which don’t provide padding but at least keep you off the dirty floor. The etiquette was to take your shoes off before sitting/sleeping on the mat.

 

I also like to have my fleece top or a blanket to keep me warm as most airports like to blast the air conditioning (this is especially important for Caracas airport where the air-con is sub-zero!).

I have an eye mask to keep out the bright airport lights, an inflatable travel pillow for my head (I noticed Indians have some amazing ability to sleep with their head directly on the floor, even lying on their sides. I don’t). I also use either my headphones and iPod or earplugs to keep out the noise.

  • Security:

Of course, when you are travelling on your own you don’t have anyone to keep an eye on your bags while you take a nap. In transit I put my rucksack in a Bolivian rice sack so it doesn’t look so appealing and then I put the bag between me and the wall, on the basis that I would most probably wake up if someone tried to move the bag. I sometimes also sleep with my feet up on the bag or an arm draped across. My day bag has a strap that I can lock to a bench, railing, trolley so usually I try to lock it to something if I can, or at least padlock the zips closed and keep the strap wrapped around my body somehow.

As a lone female traveller, I’ve been lucky enough never to have any hassle when sleeping at airports though I’ve had many funny looks when I’m rolling out my mat and setting up my place to sleep!

Here is a link to a website about sleeping at airports. I’ve found it a useful resource over the years.

This sign is above the paper towel dispenser in the toilets. You can’t help yourself, and choose how much paper you want to waste, because a lady is waiting there to give you a big handful of paper towels!

3 responses »

  1. Hi Dana

    I read your latest and recalled this funny Ted video. All the best with the marathon journey across continents.

    Harjeet x

Leave a comment